I am one who limits myself when it comes to vocabulary. Some would say I lack imagination but I find that I can express myself pretty well with what I allow myself to use... I don't want to be one of
those people who use big words just to look like I know what I'm talking about. I may over use "freaking", "random" and "poop" but I promise you I will throw in a couple smart-person words every now and then. (My idol isn't Tina Fey for nothing you know!).
To prove my brain hasn't turned to mush since I graduated here is a word I learned today while reading. (yeah, I read a lot and not just Judy Blume books...)
Aesthete.
Looking at it I thought,
maybe it was a fancy english word for athlete? Yeah. It's not. And I'm reading a biography on Lady Almina (Downton Abbey is based on her) so the rich-guy couldn't be an Anesthesiologist in the early 20th century?!
Gosh. I'm stumped. But I want to be smart...! So I looked it up and it means... holy poo, my computer dictionary doesn't even have it. Hang on, I have to look it up on dictionary.com again (app from my phone! woot woot!)
Ok, here it is. The legit definition of AESTHETE... it's a noun btw and I'm going to make it italic and bigger cause it's that important to me, and green cause that's my favorite color.
aes-thete [es-theet or, especially British, ees-thete]
A person who affects great love of art, music, poetry, etc., and indifference to practical matters.
Yep. That's us. And welcome to our blog.